The choker experiment

by Leonie

Emmanuelle, I’ve got a list for everything that you can make lists for and even sub-category lists in these lists. One of the more important ones is the Wishlist, and the clever thing about it is that I can only buy clothes slash accessories slash beauty articles that are written there for long enough and not got scratched out because I lost interest in it or found out I wouldn’t wear it anyway.

The choker necklace is written there since quite a long time now. I like the grungy 90s touch it gives to simple outfits – I like in general when you just take one accessory or piece of clothing from one decade slash ‘trend wave’ and combine it with your basic wardrobe – and it reminds me of my youth when I was wearing this similar, trendy tattoo necklace – which is actually trendy again now. Anyway, before actually buying a choker I got the idea of just wearing a prototype – aka an &otherstories ribbon – to try if I’d actually like it or might feel uncomfortable.

Situation : I was combining it with an outfit made out of a black long sleeve, a jeans skirt and flat-forms. The location was first a bar in the city center and then Daria’s home with a couple of people in it.

Conclusion : Positive reactions – around 5. Negative reactions – zero. Reaction when they saw it was an &otherstories ribbon – hahahah. I felt comfortable and even though it’s only a little black strap it makes a remarkable difference in your feeling and appearance. I personally would keep the outfit simple when wearing a choker, but as long as you don’t crimp your hair, not too much can go wrong. I also felt a bit sentimental as it was now the first trend that I followed twice in my life – getting old slash everything comes back in fashion slash noughties childhood – and even wore it at night for sleeping. So yes, I’d like a real one now.

Decision difficulties slash I don’t want a turquoise fake gem on it – tell me which one you would get, Emmanuelle:

 

Cybele Ribbon Choker – Are You Am I 

Double Wrap Lilou – Are You Am I 

Ride Out Wrap Choker – Nasty Gal

Lace Choker – ASOS

Isabelle Choker – Urban Outfitters 

